• Sign up for Updates


Charlie Bethel brings a unique set of experiences to his service on the Georgia Supreme Court.

Charlie’s legal career began with service as a law clerk on the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Georgia for Justice Charles A. Pannell, Jr. Upon completion of his clerkship, Charlie returned home to Northwest Georgia where he practiced law in Dalton and spent over a decade in the flooring industry in executive and legal capacities.

While maintaining his day job, Charlie was elected to serve as an Alderman for the City of Dalton and later served three terms in the Georgia State Senate. In the Senate, he successfully carried legislation on a broad array of topics and counts the passage of comprehensive juvenile justice reform legislation and autism insurance reform legislation (commonly referred to as “Ava’s Law”) as the high points of his legislative service.

Charlie again answered the call of public service when Governor Nathan Deal appointed him to be a judge on the Georgia Court of Appeals in 2016.  Upon the retirement of former Chief Justice Harris Hines, Governor Deal appointed Charlie as a Justice on the Supreme Court of Georgia on September 4, 2018.

Throughout his years on the bench, Charlie has been faithful both to the law and his oath of office. He understands that judges must set aside their personal preferences in deciding each case before them and that they must follow the law, even when the outcome may be unpopular.

Born in Athens, Charlie was raised in Dalton, a place he and his family still call home. He and his wife, Lynsey, have three children and are active members of the First Baptist Church of Dalton.   



Governor Brian Kemp
Governor Nathan Deal
Governor Roy Barnes
Lt. Governor Geoff Duncan
Senator Jason Carter, Democratic Nominee for Governor
Dekalb CEO Mike Thurmond

Comm. Gary Black, Commissioner of Agriculture
Sam Olens, Former Attorney General
Comm. Jason Shaw, PSC Commissioner
Mike Bowers, Former Attorney General
Congressman Buddy Carter, District 1
Congressman Tom Graves, District 14
Congressman Barry Loudermilk, District 11
Sen. Lester Jackson, District 2
Sen. Jen Jordan, District 6
Sen. Tyler Harper, District 7
Sen. PK Martin, District 9
Sen. Dean Burke, District 11
Sen. Freddie Powell Sims, District 12
Sen. Bruce Thompson, District 14
Sen. Ed Harbison, District 15
Sen. John Kennedy, District 18
Sen. Blake Tillery, District 19
Sen. Harold Jones, District 22
Sen. Jesse Stone, District 23
Sen. Bill Cowsert, District 46
Sen. William Ligon, District 3
Sen. Michael ‘Doc’ Rhett, District 33
Sen. Burt Jones, District 25
Sen. Mike Dugan, District 30
Sen. Lindsey Tippins, District 37
Sen. Steve Henson, District 41
Sen. Elena Parent, District 42
Sen. Butch Miller, District 49
Sen. Steve Gooch, District 51
Sen. Jeff Mullis, District 51
Sen. Chuck Payne, District 54
Sen. John Albers, District 56
Sen. Larry Walker, District 20
Rep. Kasey Carpenter, District 4
Rep. Jason Ridley, District 6
Rep. Rick Jasperse, District 11
Rep. Wes Cantrell, District 22
Rep. Bert Reeves, District 34
Rep. Teri Anulewicz, District 42
Rep. Micah Gravley, District 67
Rep. Demetrius Douglas, District 78
Rep. Mandi Ballinger, District 23
Rep. Scot Turner, District 21
Rep. Matthew Gambill, District 15
Rep. Michael Caldwell, District 20
Rep. Scott Holcomb, District 81
Rep. Dar’shun Kendrick, District 93
Rep. Terry England, District 116
Rep. Houston Gaines, District 117
Rep. Berry Fleming, District 121
Rep. Bob Trammel, District 132
Rep. Richard Smith, District 134
Rep. James Beverly, District 143
Rep. Chuck Efsration, District 104
Rep. Mike Cheokas, District 138
Larry Walker Jr, Former Representative
Stacey Evans, Former Representative
Edward Lindsey, Former Representative
Chad Nimmer, Former Representative
Meagan Hanson, Former Representative
Ronnie Mabra, Former Representative
Sheriff Jud Smith, Barrow County
Sheriff David Davis, Bibb County
Sheriff Josh Hilton, Calhoun County
Sheriff Steve Thomas, Franklin County
Sheriff Mitch Ralston, Gordon County
Sheriff Donni Harrison, Greene County
Sheriff Joey Terrell, Habersham County
Sheriff Gerald Couch, Hall County
Sheriff Brad White, Lamar County
Sheriff Stacy Jarrard, Lumpkin County
Sheriff Brad Freeman, Monroe County
Sheriff Gary Langford, Murray County
Sheriff Ramsey Bennett, Pierce County
Sheriff Danny Brannen, Pulaski County
Sheriff Joe Chapman, Walton County
Sheriff Clarke Millsap, Bartow County
Sheriff Ashley Paulk, Lowndes County
Sheriff Howard Sills, Putnam County
Sheriff Shane Tondee, Schley County
Sheriff Darrell Dix, Spalding County
Sheriff Randy Shirley, Stephens County
Sheriff Jeff Watson, Taylor County
Sheriff Gene Scarbrough, Tift County
Sheriff Mack Mason, Union County
Sheriff Dan Kilgore, Upson County
Sheriff Steve Wilson, Walker County
Sheriff Joe Chapman, Walton County
Sheriff Randy Dely, Webster County
Sheriff Randy Rigdon, Wheeler County
Sheriff Neal Walden, White County
Sheriff Scott Chitwood, Whitfield County
Sheriff Don Whitaker, Worth County
Sheriff Donnie Pope, Jasper County
DA Tom Durden, Atlantic District
DA Richard Mallard, Ogeechee District
DA Brad Shealy, Southern District
DA Lewis Lamb, South Western District
DA Herb Cranfod, Coweta District
DA Rosemary Greene, Cherokee District
DA Bert Poston, Conasauga District
Daniel Porter, Gwinnett District
DA Tim Vaughn, Oconee District
DA Dick Perryman, Alapaha District
DA George Hartwig, Houston District
DA Sherry Boston, Stone Mountain District
DA Darius Pattillo, Flint District
DA Buzz Franklin, Lookout Mountain District
DA Hayward Altman, Middle District
DA Allison Sosebee, Appalachian District
Mayor Hardie Davis, Mayor of Augusta